Update January 2016

Let me begin by sending my sincere thanks to all of my wonderful friends and customers who have sent kind words and warms wishes for my speedy recovery from shingles. As many of you know, I’ve been unable to do much since Thanksgiving other than set screws in needles, carve a few crochet hooks and assist Linda with shipping. The nerve pain has been incredible and continues to limit use of my left arm, but I am beginning to mend and am anxious to get back to the shop to do what I love to do most – make darn pretty needles.

To be completely honest, I’ve been considering cancelling all unpaid pre-fire requests for sets (approx 400) and focus on paid orders. In hindsight It may have been the thing to do immediately following the fire. However, at that time I felt, and still do feel, that I owed it to all my customers to make every attempt to fulfill their desire to have a set of Darn Pretty Needles. I’m feeling better today than I have in a long time and do not believe cancelling orders will be necessary. I hope to return to the shop and pick up where we were back in November. I will keep everyone posted on my progress.

As I mentioned earlier, one thing I was able to work on was crochet hooks. In doing so, I was also able to finalize the design of my crochet hooks. We have long wanted to offer metal hooks, but the hooks had to be excellent. A crochet hook from DyakCraft could not be just another mass produced hook. We sought a way to duplicate on a mill what I can do by hand. For a long while we did not think we would be able to pull it off. My enforced “down time” this past two months gave me the time to spend problem solving, working with a draftsman and a machinist, to create “my” hook. I’ve sent prototypes out to testers this week. Crocheters will soon have the hooks they have been patiently waiting for us to produce.

In summary, I’m heading back to the shop today, wiping the dust off the lathes and getting back to turning!
A belated happy new year to you all.

Tom

